Differences between RHEL-7 and RHEL-6

Connect with

Difference between RHEL 7 and RHEL 6Differences between RHEL 7 and RHEL 6 , so I tried to explain via this post. RHEL 7 vs RHEL 6 you get to know here.

Differences Redhat 7 and Redhat 6

Here, RHEL means Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Following is the differences between RHEL 7 and RHEL 6.

Features Provided

Redhat 7

Redhat 6

Default File System XFS EXT4  
Kernel Version 3.10.x-x 2.6.x-x  
Kernel Code Name Maipo Santiago  
First Process systemd (process ID 1) init (process ID 1)  

  • runlevel0.target -> Power Off
  • runlevel1.target -> Rescue
  • runlevel2.target -> Multi-user
  • runlevel3.target -> Multi-user
  • runlevel4.target -> Multi-user
  • runlevel5.target -> Graphical
  • runlevel6.target -> Reboot


  • runlevel0
  • runlevel1
  • runlevel2
  • runlevel3
  • runlevel4
  • runlevel5
  • runlevel6
Host Name File /etc/hostname /etc/sysconfig/network  
UID Changes Default any new users created with UIDs 1000(/etc/login.defs) Default any new users created with UIDs 500(/etc/login.defs)  
MAX Files System Supported 500TB 16TB(64bit) and 8TB(32bit) machine.  
Default Database MariaDB MySql  

Happy learning of differences between rhel 6 and rhel 7.

Connect with

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *